REVIEWS

"Well researched with historical details and complemented by rich characters, this historical thriller is packed with intrigue, deception, and hidden pasts. The solid balance between history and the supernatural will keep readers engaged throughout the hefty 400-plus pages. Fans of Caleb Carr, Dan Simmons, Sarah Waters, and John Harwood will enjoy."

Library Journal

 

"It's a ghost story, a mystery and historical fiction. And it's terrific; intricate plotting, adventure, surprising twists ... A delicious yarn."

The Star-Ledger

"A grippingly good read. ... Things Half in Shadow has it all: murder, mystery, intrigue, and a smattering of some ghostly paranormal thrown in for good measure!"

Blog Critics (Editor's Pick)

 

"Blends the history of Philadelphia after the war with the mystic world of ghosts and Spiritualism ... genuinely gripping."

Historical Novel Society

 

"A historical superhero is born. ... Things Half in Shadow blends historical fiction with the contemporary thriller, comic book, mystery and paranormal genres for an entrancing adventure."

Shelf Awareness

 

"Full of spellbinding tales of the supernatural ... Things Half in Shadow couples historical detail with imagination and fantasy."

Bookpage

 

"Things Half in Shadow rattles along faster than the carriages that throng the streets of Philadelphia."

Authorlink

 

"With a masterful blend of history, romance, and classic ghost story, Alan Finn effortlessly pulls you in from the first line and keeps you riveted to the page. One of the most entertaining books I've read all year."

Jeff Somers, author of THE ELECTRIC CHURCH